Programme 2023-2024

Friday, October 6, 2023, 2-4 pm: Nicholas Bromell (UMass), “Another Frederick Douglass: Tracing the ‘Strange, Mysterious, and Indescribable’ in Douglass’s Political Philosophy.” (UP Cité, Olympe de Gouges, Room 830 / Zoom)

Friday, November 10, 2023, 2-4 pm: Matthew Redmond, “Between Worlds: Revolutionary Time in American Literature.” (UP Cité, Olympe de Gouges 829 / Zoom)

Friday, December 8, 2023, 2-4 pm: Stephen Rachman (Michigan State), “Pathoregimes: Poe, Pestilence, Space and Time.” (Sorbonne University, English Library / Zoom)

Thursday, January 18, 2024, 4-6 pm: A conversation with US writer Laird Hunt, co-organized with IMAGER, UPEC (UP Cité, Olympes de Gouges 164 / Zoom) (download PDFs)

Wednesday, January 24, 2024, 6 pm: Prof. Gary Totten (University of Nevada, Las Vegas), Fourth Edith Wharton Birthday Talk: “Edith Wharton’s Geographical Imagination: Notesfrom the Travel Writing” (Zoom only)

Friday, February 2, 2024, 2-4 pm: Julien Nègre (ENS de Lyon), « Petites baies et Indiens morts : l’environnement de Thoreau, » joint seminar A19 / Environmental Humanities (Institut Catholique de Paris, 74, rue de Vaugirard, 75006 / Zoom) (download PDFs)

Friday, March 1, 2-4 pm: One hour on Mary E. Wilkins Freeman. Emma Thiébaut (LARCA), “Beyond Genus and Genre: the (Nonsense) Politics of Animality in the Life and Works of M.E.W. Freeman,” joint seminar A19 / Mary E. Wilkins Freeman Society (Zoom only)

Friday, March 22, 2-4 pm: Paulin Ismard nous parlera de son nouveau livre, Le Miroir d’Oedipe: Penser l’esclavage (The Mirror of Oedipus: Thinking About Slavery) (Seuil, 2023) (UPCité / Zoom)

Wednesday, 27 March, 5:30-7pm: Michael Boyden (Radboud University), “Choleraic Communication in the Nineteenth-Century Culture of Invalidism” (Sorbonne Université, English Department Library, Salle Louis Bonnerot, Esc. G, 2nd floor / Zoom)

Tuesday, April 30, 2-4 pm. Bridget Bennett (University of Leeds) & Erin Forbes (University of Bristol). ‘African American Letters’.

Tuesday 28 May, Nineteenth-Century American Literature and Health Humanities: Scholars in Conversation, 2-5:30pm Université Paris Cité, ODG Building, Room 830